EDAS and NESTA invite ALC director and former Basque President Juan Jose Ibarretxe to take part in their congress.

Last 23RD JUNE the UK innovation agency NESTA and the Economic Development Association Scotland EDAS hosted an event that looked at the future of innovation in Scotland. To that end, they invited former Basque President and ALC Director JUAN JOSE IBARRETXE among the keynote speakers in order to share the Basque succesful socio-economic TRANSFORMATION under extreme circumstances.


The Scottish Government is facing a time of devolution of competences and is placing innovation at the heart of its plan for long-term, sustainable economic growth plans, in which the Basque Country serves as a USEFUL EXPERIENCE OF PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP capable of generating SUSTAINABLE HUMAN DEVELOPMENTecosystems

In addition to President Ibarretxe’s presentation, other relevant representatives of private and public sectors took part in the event, such as JOHN SWINNEY MSP, Deputy First Minister for Scotland, Irene McAra-McWilliam (The Glasgow School of Art), Robert Crawford (EDAS), Adam Price (Nesta) and DONNA CHISHOLM (Highlands & Islands Enterprise), among others.


The second time of the visit consisted on a meeting with Fiona Hyslop, Cabinet Secretary for Culture, Europe and External Affairs of the SCOTTISH GOVERNMENT. The objective of this meeting was twofold: on one hand, presenting the Basque transformation and the important rol that CULTURE has played in it; on the other hand, talking about a possible COLLABORATION between Agirre Center and the Scottish Government in a new international research project on the role that culture plays in socio-economic transformation,  fostered by ALC.

mailout co


Finally, the ALC team visited the SCOTTISH CENTRE FOR CONSTITUTIONAL CHANGE. We met its Director Michael Keating (regular collaborator of ALC  - SEMINARS and ARTICLES, among others – and recently AWARDED by the University of Aberdeen), as well as other members of the centre, such as David Bell, Paul Cairney and Liam Delaney (University of Stirling) and Nicola McEwan (University of Edinburgh).